The Matthews Scholar Program is a collaboration between the Honors College, the Office of Inclusion and Diversity, and the Office of Undergraduate Research. This program is named in honor of the legacy of Dr. Josetta Brittain Matthews, Auburn’s first African American graduate by earning a master’s degree in education in 1966 and the first African American faculty member in 1972.

The Matthews Scholar program includes:

  • Undergraduate research fellowship funding that is open to all students but will focus on students that self-identify as members of underrepresented populations and are engaged in diversity programming at Auburn University
  • A cohort program that creates a signature experience for participating students, including research mentorship, academic/career/professional exploration, graduate school preparation, and participation in the Undergraduate Research Symposium.


2023-2024 Awardees

Jazmine Carroll
College of Agriculture

Jada Neal
Samuel Ginn College of Engineering

Natalie McBrayer
College of Liberal Arts

John Daily
College of Science and Mathematics

Jordan Fluker
College of Science and Mathematics

Kiana Sargent
College of Science and Mathematics

McKae Sarkowski
College of Science and Mathematics

Toby Sizemore
College of Science and Mathematics

Meredith Almy
Harrison College of Pharmacy

Katherine Marlow
Harrison College of Pharmacy

Timothy Eller
College of Veterinary Medicine

Olivia Grigsby
College of Veterinary Medicine

Sujeong Kim
College of Veterinary Medicine

(For additional questions about the program, please contact JuWan D. Robinson at

Last updated: 02/28/2024